navigation:        Home   |    Copyright   |    Contact us   |   
Custom Search
1. Hexokinase
2. Phosphoglucoisomerase
3. Phosphofructokinase
4. Aldolase
5. Triose phosphate isomerase
6. Glyceraldehyde-3-phosphate dehydrogenase
7. Phosphoglycerate kinase
8. Phosphoglycerate mutase
9. Enolase
10. Pyruvate kinase

Phosphoglycerate mutase, EC

published: 21 Nov 2011 (15:08)

About Phosphoglycerate mutase

Phosphoglycerate mutase is an enzyme from Isomerase family (EC, with molecular weight within 50-70kDa range for biological dimer, that transfers a phosphate group from C-3 to C-2 atom of 3-phosphoglycerate, forming 2-phosphoglycerate. The overall reaction can be written as 3-Phosphoglycerate <=> 2-Phosphoglycerate

Systematic name for Phosphoglycerate mutase is D-phosphoglycerate 2,3-phosphomutase , but in literature other names are also acceptable: PGM; PGAM; PGAM-d; PGAM-i; PGA mutase; MPGM; GriP mutase; monophosphoglycerate mutase; phosphoglyceromutase; diphosphoglycomutase; phosphoglycerate phosphomutase; bisphosphoglyceromutase; glycerate phosphomutase (diphosphoglycerate cofactor); diphosphoglycerate mutase and monophosphoglyceromutase.

Phosphoglycerate mutase IUBMB Enzyme Nomenclature hierarchy

Phosphoglycerate mutase classification on the basis of recommendations of Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (NC-IUBMB):
  • EC 5 Isomerases
    • EC 5.4 Intramolecular transferases
      • EC 5.4.2 Phosphomutases that transfer phospho groups
        • EC D-phosphoglycerate 2,3-phosphomutase


Inhibit Glycolysis to Starve Tumour Cells

The multi-system disease called Tuberous ...

Glycolysis Role in Rhabdomyosarcomas

A study conducted by the IDIBELL researchers ...

Other news pages:

Copyright 2007-... by